Archive for January, 2006

Willard Grant Conspiracy Song Included in Great American Songbook

Sunday, January 1st, 2006

Willard Grant Conspiracy’s song “Evening Mass” is included in
Mojo Magazine’s
January issue cover mount double CD, called The Great American Songbook, along with other tracks handpicked by the editors from Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, Son House, Hank Williams, Bright Eyes, Sufjan Stevens, Frank Black and many others.

Victory at Sea Releases New Disc

Sunday, January 1st, 2006

Victory at Sea has a new album entitled All Your Things Are Gone due out in February on Gern Blandsten Records, but are celebrating its release a little early on January 28th at the Middle East in Cambridge, MA with Helms, Tiny Amps, and The Broken River Prophet.

Kimchee Family Weighs in on Album Faves for 2005

Sunday, January 1st, 2006

Geoff Farina (ex-Karate): The Evens –The Evens (Dischord)

Chris Colbourn (Buffalo Tom / Hilken Mancini and Chris Colbourn): The Bats – At the National Grid (Magic Marker)

Hilken Mancini (Hilken Mancini and Chris Colbourn / The Count Me Outs): Tunnel of Love – Tunnel of Love (ECA)

Dylan Metrano (Tiger Saw): Picastro –Metal Cares (Polyvinyl)

Nat Baldwin (Tiger Saw / Nat Baldwin): Little Wings –Grow (K)

JR Gallagher (Tiger Saw / The Divorced): Devendra Banhart – Cripple Crow (XL)

Jim Reynolds (Tiger Saw / The Deer): Brian Michael Roff & The Deer – Inventory (Keep)

Sam Rosen (Tiger Saw / Sam Rosen): Sleater-Kinney – The Woods (Sub Pop)

Juliet Nelson (Tiger Saw) – John Legend – Get Lifted (Sony)

Robert Fisher (Willard Grant Conspiracy): South San Gabriel – The Carlton Chronicles: Not Until the Operation’s Through (Misra)

David Michael Curry (Willard Grant Conspiracy / Empty House Cooperative / Thalia Zedek): The Dirty Three – Cinder (Touch & Go)

Josh Hillman (Willard Grant Conspiracy): Daniel Lanois – Belladonna (Anti)

Nedelle Torrisi (Nedelle): Deerhoof – Runners Four (Kill Rock Stars)

Paula Kelley (Paula Kelley): The Decemberists – Picaresque (Kill Rock Stars)

Aaron Tap (Paula Kelley): Rooftop Suicide Club – Always Like This (Pop, Stop & Roll)

Blake Hazard (Blake Hazard / The Submarines): Death Cab For Cutie – Plans (Barsuk)

Chris Brokaw (Chris Brokaw Rock Band / The New Year / Consonant): Pig Destroyer – Terrifyer (Relapse)

Ayal Naor (27): Paul McCartney – Chaos & Creation in the Backyard (Capitol)

Orrin Anderson (Seana Carmody): Marianne Faithful – Before the Poison (Anti)

Dean Taormina (Rosa Chance Well): Deerhoof – Runners Four (Kill Rock Stars) plus… Oasis – Don’t Believe The Truth! (Sony) as Comeback Album of the Year

Peter Irvine (Cordelia’s Dad): Winterpills – Winterpills (Signature Sounds)

Tina McCarthy (Helms): Chris Warren & The Dirty Holiday Band – American Vulture (self-released)

Kim Torres (Torrez)): Testface – Doctor Won’t You Get Us to Dawn (Broken Sparrow)

Pat Corrigan (Seekonk): The Congos – Heart of the Congos (Blood & Fire)

Bob Dubrow (Kimchee): Sufjan Stevens – Illinoise (Asthmatic Kitty) TIED with Paul McCartney – Chaos & Creation in the Backyard (Capitol)…leave it to the pollster to cheat a little…